Steveston Fishing Village
Steveston Fishing Village at the mouth of the Fraser River is a fascinating historical site that will enhance your experience of the BC West Coast.
Steveston Fishing Village has a history steeping in fishing and the canning industry. The first cannery opened in 1871. The first white settler was Monoah Steeves who arrived in 1877. His son William developed the town that became Steveston in 1889. In addition to fishing and canning, Steveston also developed a significant boat building industry. In 1980 there were many canneries in Steveston, but in 1990 the last cannery closed down. The Gulf of Georgia Cannery, one of the largest ever built, which had opened in 1894 remains open as a national historic site today.
Steveston has grown into a residential suburb of Metro Vancouver, however it still maintains the atmosphere of a historical fishing village along the waterfront and indeed it is a major center for commercial fishing, being the home of over 600 fishing boats.
Tourists will enjoy viewing the scenery and boats from the waterfront boardwalks, checking out the historic sites, and enjoying some fresh fish and chips or other local cuisine and refreshments from the many eateries along the riverfront and nearby neighbourhood.
For more information about Steveston Fishing Village go to the Offical Website: Steveston Village Community Website